Carshare Alexandria!

Today I received an email from the Alexandria Transportation Demand Management Coordinator asking me to fill out a survey as follow-up to the reimbursement of fees I received from the City of Alexandria for paying my initial membership fee for the carsharing company, ZipCar.

One of the great perks about living in an environmentally conscious community like Alexandria is that they offered to pay for my ZipCar membership through their Carshare Alexandria!. The City will reimburse residents for annual and membership fees for first-time memberships. (Unfortunately usage fees and future member fees are not eligible for reimbursement). The City will also reimburse businesses for corporate and employee annual and membership fees for first-time memberships and like the residential program, it only applies to the first year. Money  (literally).

When I graduated from college a year and a half ago, I debated whether or not I would get a car. When I discovered that my apartment building was near a transit hub (Braddock Road metro) and there were 4-5 ZipCars in the immediate vicinity, I decided to go carless. I’ve been without a car for five and a half years now (counting college) and I’m happy with my ZipCar membership. Not only do I not have to worry about past and future gas spikes, I’ve don’t have to worry about maintenance, parking fees, and waiting in traffic. I’ve never have problems about other users returning the cars late, dirty, or smelly. Using the gas card and making reservations are easy. The only thing I have to worry about is returning the car on time; if I’m ever running late I can extend the reservation over the phone and I don’t have to pay a surcharge.

I bike to the grocery store once a week and carry groceries in my backpack and put the rest in my re-usuable bags I balance on the handlebars. Riding metro certainly has its downsides, but it gives me the opportunity to read every morning. Since January, I’ve read four books: Team of Rivals, Imperial Grunts, The Epic of Gilgamesh, and The Short Reign of Pippin IV.

So I get more time to read, more money in my pocket (according to a 2008 study by AAA, it costs about $8,000 to own and drive a midsize sedan),  mandatory exercise (lest I be late), I don’t have to worry about traffic, and I get to help the environment. What a deal. Check out a great article about the concept of carsharing from the NYTimes.com here: “Share My Ride.”

What do you think of the concept of carsharing? Would any of you consider going carless? If so, under what conditions? If not, why not?

A penny for your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Alexandria, policy, transportation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carshare Alexandria!

  1. Madi says:

    I would have to disagree with you, my fellow pro-green hippie. Carsharing is dirty and I don’t trust people. That could be because of my nature, and the fact that I am a conservative…

    I own a pre-own 2004 GTI VW and it does cost. I split its use between the metro and that has its own cost – time. Time is money.

    I live in an uber-efficient society and I have places to go and people to see; therefore, my purchase of the GTI when I had no income or credit score to my name was a curse in itself. I have a handle on the loan and it’s finally in the single digits. I have yet to have any maintenance horrors (knock on wood) and gas is relatively cheap considering its compact size (though I do use mid-grade to maintain the engine/turbo). I enjoy my seat heaters in the winter and the fresh air blowing through my sun roof in the summer. I can leave when I want and return as I please.

    Because I am a girl, I do worry about my tendency to make rash decisions in the heat of the moment; however, I have never crashed nor recieved a speeding ticket. Although, I am told I have a lead foot.

    I have heard studies of those who use Zip Cars, have the worse driving habits. I concur, as I am a bit rusty after two weeks of using the metro…

    The issue here is using my car while using the metro. I have to run my engine at least once a week to maintain it. It’s a balancing act but I feel I have a healthy balance and best of both worlds right now. <– I lied a little there, I will feel the best when my loan is paid off and my car is under 200,000 miles and the there were less creepy people on the metro. =P

  2. watcat says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

Leave a Reply

